THRIVE Innovation

​The THRIVE Innovation Award recognizes an individual, team or center for innovation in survivor partnership that addresses the needs of survivors of critical illness, including the family, to optimize recovery through novel paradigms of care delivery, improved coordination of care, and/or the design and implementation of virtual or in-person support groups. Applications and nominations that demonstrate benefits to the pediatric or adult critical care community are encouraged. The recipient receives an honorarium of $750, a plaque and one complimentary SCCM Congress registration, which does not include travel expenses.

For more information about the THRIVE Innovation Award, contact Adair Andrews.

Deadline, Criteria and Submission
Applications must be submitted by August 1 for the following year's award.

The award application requires: 

  • Applicant contact information 
  • One Criteria Letter
  • Two Letters of Support

Submit Application

The applicant or nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Candidates must be nominated by an SCCM member in good standing or may self-nominate for the award. The nominator (or candidate) must provide a letter detailing the following:
    • Demonstrate how the novel program, care delivery model, or initiative was designed to meet the needs of survivors of critical illness and aid their recovery
    • Demonstrate how the novel program, care delivery model, or initiative has benefitted survivors of critical illness, either through examples, through survivors’ own words, and/or through outcome measurements
    • Demonstrate multiprofessional team involvement (if appropriate)

To apply or nominate requires:

  • Submission of a nomination letter (self-submission or by SCCM member)
  • Submission of at least two letters of support from individuals who have benefitted from the innovation or who were involved with the activity or activities, noted above, emphasizing how the innovation has improved the lives of survivors of critical illness.

Selection and Notification
A subcommittee of the THRIVE Taskforce, which reports to the SCCM Awards Committee, selects the award recipient by ranking all of the qualifying submissions. The nominee with the highest ranking will be selected for the award. The selection committee may not present an award in a given year should it find that no candidate meets minimum criteria. The recommendation will be forwarded to the Executive Committee for final review.
To honor notable nominees not selected for the award, a list of Innovation Champions will be acknowledged for their efforts through SCCM publications and/or through the SCCM website.

Criteria considered by the selection committee will include: 
  • Has the nominee met all of the eligibility criteria noted above?
  • Does the submission demonstrate the nominee made a novel and significant contribution(s) to the needs of survivors of critical illness through a novel program, care delivery model or initiative?
  • Does the submission demonstrate the use of the multiprofessional team in achieving the stated outcomes?

The award recipient will be notified by November 1. The winner will be announced during an awards ceremony at the Critical Care Congress.